Three Motets

George Jeffreys (c1610-1685)

for alto/high tenor (g-b'flat), bass (D-d'), and continuo

Ref. no Jef 3 (in 'cantatas')           sample page      cover page      To order:     

  • O Nomen Jesu
  • O Pretiosum
  • Jesu, Rex admirabilis

The three pieces in this edition are taken from a series of pieces headed ‘Mottects’. They could well have served as anthems in an act of public worship, or as a contribution to private devotions in a formal setting such as that of the royal court, or an aristocratic house. All show the influence of the new Italian style which Jeffreys admired – he made manuscript copies of over one hundred sacred works by Carissimi, Grandi, Reggio and others, contained in BM Add MS 31479, as well as of a quantity of secular Italian music, to be found in Christ Church Oxford, MS 787-80.